NORTH-REG is led by a scientific steering committee consisting of two delegates from each of the Nordic countries – Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland and Iceland (one delegate). The chairman is elected from this group. Other members of the scientific committee are appointed ad hoc based on relevance for ongoing and prospective studies from relevant clinical and paraclinical specialities.

Coordination of studies, approval processes, and running costs are structured through a scientific study office with reference to the chairman of the steering committee on a daily basis and through this with reference to the scientific committee. The scientific study office consists of central study coordinators and scientific research associates.